Six Universities Receive $20M Each to Study Climate Change

The National Science Foundation (NSF) has invested $20 million to six universities to study economic and environmental factors contributing to climate change. The foundation has awarded five-year grants to the University of Kentucky Research Foundation, University of Maine, University of Missouri at Columbia, North Dakota State University, South Dakota State University, and University of the Virgin Islands through the Experimental Program to Stimulate Competitive Research (EPSCoR).

In addition to research, the awards will go toward STEM education and work force development in related areas.

For details on each university’s research plans, see the NSF press release.